Dream Big, Live Large!

4 out of 5 Dreamers recommend DBLL

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic District, Atlanta, U.S.A.

Pretty much everyone knows the “I have a dream speech” off by heart.  And by “off by heart” I mean they know that Martin Luther King gave a speech, and in that speech he said “I have a dream.”  Most people also probably know that he gave that speech in Washington, D.C.  However, do you know where Martin Luther King Jr. was born?

Take a trip to Atlanta, Georgia one day.  Not only does it have the busiest airport in the world, but Atlanta also has some of the friendliest people.  I like to say it has a big soul.  It’s no wonder to me, after experiencing the city first hand, that one of the most influential and caring humans in history came from there.

It’s a little bit out of the way, and you won’t find any Starbucks coffee shops nearby, or really anything nearby, but Martin Luther King Jr. gave his life to make the world a better place, so I figured the least I could do was put my pride and fear in check long enough to go visit his Memorial.

Mural honouring the great Martin Luther King Jr.

Ashamedly, by the time I walked around lost and later found my way the Memorial was closed.  Also, I kind of stumbled across it and didn’t even know I was in the right area until after I had gotten back to Canada, so I have very few photos.  However, I had an experience most tourists probably never get (more on that in a future post), and the pride of knowing I went out of my way to pay my respects to a brave and honourable man.

I’m not sure what this is, but it’s the only other photo I have from the Memorial.

When you’re in Atlanta, make sure you see the Martin Luther King National Historic District.

4 comments on “Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic District, Atlanta, U.S.A.

  1. philvb
    August 17, 2012

    Love the colorful mural!

    • bucketdave
      August 18, 2012

      Thanks Phil, I do too. It’s actually much, much larger. However, a combination of bad angles/bad sunlight made it necessary to only shoot this small section. I welcome anyone who has a better image s/he took personally to post a link to his/her blog below.

      • philvb
        August 19, 2012

        Great photo regardless!

      • bucketdave
        August 19, 2012

        Thanks

Leave a comment