Dream Big, Live Large!

4 out of 5 Dreamers recommend DBLL

Hike Ben Nevis, Fort Williams, Scotland

At 1, 344 metres (4,409 feet) Ben Nevis is the tallest mountain in all of Scotland.  It apparently also has the most people carried or lifted off of it every year as well.  I found that last fact out after I hobbled my way back down, battered but triumphant.

View of the valley below. It’s worth all of the struggle.

Ben Nevis is situated near the beautiful outdoor adventure hot-spot, Fort William.  So, in between humbling encounters with one of the U.K.’s big three mountains, you can go mountain biking, skiing, rock climbing, off-roading, white water rafting… pretty much anything your heart can desire and your imagination can make up.

This waterfall about half-way up, is the one and only chance to fill up on water. I learned that lesson the hard way.

A word of advance warning though: The mountain top extends way above the clouds.  While the weather may be warm and mild in the valley, it changes seasons about half-way up the mountain.  I only brought a pair of running shoes and a spring jacket.  And while I’ve been told that sometimes I have a bit too much confidence in my own abilities (nonesense!), even I was starting to get a little nervous about the never ending line of people coming back from the summit asking “is that all the gear you have?!”  When I got back to my hostel and asked the attendant about this, he told me “aww, don’t worry about that, we just thought you were going to die.”

At the summit, with my one 500 mL bottle of water I had with me to take me up and down the mountain. In retrospect, I should have probably brought a second bottle.

While I’m sure many people die, and even more people get injured, if you don’t die or get injured you’ll be rewarded with a feeling of “I can conquer the world” that is priceless.  When you’re in Scotland, make sure you hike Ben Nevis.

6 comments on “Hike Ben Nevis, Fort Williams, Scotland

  1. philvb
    August 17, 2012

    Beautiful country!

    • bucketdave
      August 18, 2012

      You’re absolutely right Phil. I figured you, of all people, would appreciate this post the most. I’m glad you liked it.

      • philvb
        August 19, 2012

        Thanks for posting! The country is so green and lush. So unlike what we have here in Idaho.

      • bucketdave
        August 19, 2012

        That may be true, but I bet your hiking boots don’t get as wet either. Ha ha. I permanently ruined a pair of running shoes from all the rain and mud and water. It was worth it, mind you, so I’m not complaining. I’d love to go hiking in Idaho though. Your blog makes it look beautiful!

  2. J. G. Burdette
    August 18, 2012

    I’d really like to get around to visiting Scotland.

    • bucketdave
      August 18, 2012

      It’s fantastic J. G. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2012 by in Fort William, Hiking, Outdoors, Scotland and tagged , , , , , , , .
